Larose Forest

Larose Forest was initiated in 1928 when agronomist, Ferdinand Larose, undertook a conifer plantation on lands that were abandoned due to soil erosion. Today, the Larose Forest is owned and managed by the corporation of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell.

This pristine natural site is located approximately 50 kilometres east of Ottawa, just south of the village of Bourget and covers over 11,000 hectares. More than 18 million trees have been planted making it the second largest community forest in Ontario. It includes conifers, wetlands, mixed forest and is crisscrossed by the South Nation River, many smaller creeks and over 200 kilometres of roads and trails.

The Forest shelters a wide variety of wildlife from the small chickadee to the majestic moose. It also contains a beautiful variety of wild flowers and mushrooms, scattered throughout the area. There are numerous excellent places to relax and have a good time.

By visiting the Forest, you will have the opportunity to enjoy numerous popular outdoor activities year-round, ranging from hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding, snow shoeing, cross-country skiing and much more. Please refer to the Winter Trails section to get more details on activities and parking locations.

To learn more about our trails’ status, follow-us on Facebook!

Rate and write a review

Indian Creek Road
Clarence-Rockland K0A ON CA
Get directions

Forêt Larose

La Forêt Larose est aujourd’hui détenue et gérée par la corporation des Comtés unis de Prescott et Russell. Ce site naturel est situé au sud du village de Bourget. Elle se trouve environ 50 km à l’est d’Ottawa et s’étend sur plus de 11 000 hectares.

À ce jour, plus de 18 millions d’arbres y ont été plantés pour faire de la Forêt Larose la deuxième plus grande forêt communautaire en Ontario. Elle comprend des plantations de conifères, des milieux humides et des forêts mixtes. Elle est traversée par la rivière Nation Sud, par de nombreux petits ruisseaux et par plus de 200 km de routes et de sentiers.

La Forêt est l’abri d’une grande variété d’espèces fauniques allant de la minuscule mésange jusqu’au majestueux orignal. Il s’y trouve aussi diverses fleurs sauvages et divers champignons dispersés dans toute la région.

La Forêt regorge d’excellents endroits pour se détendre et passer un bon moment en nature. Vous aurez l’occasion de profiter de nombreuses activités de plein air tout au long de l’année.

La randonnée, le VTT, l’équitation, la raquette et le ski de fond ne sont que quelques-unes des possibilités qui s’offrent à vous. Veuillez vous référer à notre carte interactive des sentiers pour obtenir plus de détails sur les activités et les emplacements de stationnement.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’état de sentiers, suivez-nous sur Facebook!

Notez et écrivez un commentaire

Indian Creek Road
Clarence-Rockland K0A ON CA
Obtenir un itinéraire