The Corridor is a select range of Francophone heritage, cultural and tourism products in Canada that offer visitor services in French.

Ontario’s diverse Francophone community

Ontario has the largest number of Francophones outside Quebec, somewhere between 500,000 and 600,000, depending on whether mother tongue or first official language spoken is used as the criterion to estimate their numbers. They represent approximately 4% of the province’s total population.

Ontario’s Champlain Scenic Route: Walking in the Footsteps of the Father of New France

In search of a westward passage to trade with China, many French explorers—Nicollet, Radisson, Des Groseilliers and La Vérendrye (both father and son)—crossed the current province of Ontario. Their forerunner, the “first” European to have crossed and described this territory, was none other than the Father of New France, Samuel de Champlain.

In 1615–1616, he travelled through part of what would become Ontario, staying there for ten months. Today, a 1,200 km scenic route showcases that trailblazing journey and the 400 years of Francophone presence that ensued: Ontario’s Champlain Scenic Route. To travel this route is to walk in the footsteps of the famous explorer, cartographer and diplomat, discover Franco‑Ontarians, enjoy outdoor adventures in unspoiled wilderness, uncover Canada’s heritage and history, and taste local products. These are some of the attractions the Route has to offer visitors.

Learn more…

Explore route champlain in a new way and discover unique ontario french communities!

LE CORRIDOR EST UN ENSEMBLE D’EXPÉRIENCES ET DE PRODUITS PATRIMONIAUX, CULTURELS ET TOURISTIQUES FRANCOPHONES AU CANADA QUI PROPOSENT AUX VISITEURS DES SERVICES EN FRANÇAIS

La communauté francophone diversifiée de l’Ontario

À l’extérieur du Québec, c’est en Ontario qu’on trouve le plus grand nombre de francophones. Selon sa définition inclusive de francophone, l’Ontario comptait 622 415 francophones en 2016, ou 4,7 % de la population provinciale.

La Route touristique Champlain de l’Ontario : sur les pas du père de la Nouvelle-France

À la recherche d’un passage vers l’ouest pour commercer avec la Chine, de nombreux explorateurs français — Nicollet, Radisson et Des Groseillers, La Vérendrye père et fils — ont traversé la province actuelle de l’Ontario. Leur éclaireur, le « premier » Européen à avoir franchi et décrit ce territoire n’est nul autre que le père de la Nouvelle-France, Samuel de Champlain.

En 1615-1616, il a parcouru une partie de ce qui deviendra l’Ontario et il y a séjourné pendant dix mois. Aujourd’hui, une route touristique de 1200 km met en valeur ce parcours fondateur et les 400 ans de présence francophone qui ont suivi : la Route touristique Champlain de l’Ontario. Emprunter cette Route, c’est suivre les traces du célèbre explorateur, cartographe et diplomate, découvrir les Franco-Ontariens, vivre des aventures en plein air dans des décors vierges, lever le voile sur le patrimoine et l’histoire du Canada et goûter aux produits du terroir. Voici quelques exemples des attractions que cette Route propose aux visiteurs.

Pour en savoir plus…

Explorez-la route champlain autrement et découvrez les communautés francophones de l’ontario!